breadcrumb-less

“We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful about what we pretend to be.” ― Kurt Vonnegut

I just found a friend’s blog and noted how we narrate our stories depending on the listener. A frequent occurrence she claims from childhood does not exist in my memory bank of experiences with her. Does that matter? What if others cannot validate the who you’re pretending to be? Who do you believe?

I’ve been thinking about the Russian nesting dolls of experience and context. The order in which we meet people and how this informs future interactions. Because of how we learn and how we make decisions. I’ve been thinking about overthinking. I’ve been thinking about decision-making.

dolls To simplify it, every person we meet nests inside our future interactions. If I hadn’t gained the knowledge and insight from interacting with F, would I then turn around and interact in the same way with G? What if I met G before F, how would my interaction then be different with G?

See what I’m saying? I’ve been thinking about how my interactions with different individuals at specific times in my life has changed the way I interact with future people and how I read people. I’ve been thinking about how you can’t stop your judgment, but how we can suspend it. I’ve been thinking about how we judge but don’t act. Form a checkbox but maybe wait to check it. Or not.

gutOkay

Leave a Reply

