“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” –Sylvia Plath 

Remember that time I found the batch of letters I never sent. Remember that time I forgot how it felt. Remember that time you said it was the best you’ve ever had in your life. Remember that time I tried really hard to be everything you expected and more. Remember that time I realized you only sought me out because I remind you of your mother, your sister, yourself, your boy? Remember that time your face turned so red I knew you were expecting the hug way before I thought to give it. 

Remember that time I fed you prosciutto in the kitchen standing up? When I lied and lied and lied for you again. Remember when I met you in the field and you said, “who are you looking for?” Remember that time I met you at the bar and you said, “you’re headed in the wrong direction.” Remember when we took the cab home and you messaged me later, “want a sandwich?” Remember that night at the bowling alley when my t-shirt was too big and I didn’t laugh at your jokes. 

Remember, remember, remember, remember. 

I don’t know what to think. 

Leave a Reply

