Appetizers 

What if the way you think about life isn’t the right way? 

Remember that time we made fun of the word ‘great’ but when it came down to it, we couldn’t think of another word?

I went to the bar in a sweatshirt and jeans and I still wasn’t invisible. What do you have to be to remain unseen? I pull the cuffs of my sleeves over my wrists. 

I don’t think…

Some day I will meet someone who doesn’t think what I already know; I doubt that.

Someday I will be able to describe the feelings I have that aren’t based in rational thought. Someday it will all make sense. Why does it have to make sense? I pretend that you see, but I know this is a lie. When will I be rewarded for best liar? When will I start caring about the lying? The stories we tell ourselves. 

If vertigo is detachment then what is stability? Connection? Yes, I see through the words and you still think you can see through me. 

“How do you know this?”

“Because I’m always watching people. When I watch people I too look through them. I learned that from my mother. To glance is not enough; eyes and brains together, acting like a flock of ravenous birds, flapping, tearing, poking… I know everything about people when I look at them for only a moment. I can tell from their clothes, their walks, their hair and hands, I know all the bad things that they’ve done. I know how they’ve failed and how they will fail and how miserable they are.” -Dave Eggers 

Clarity is brevity, you know? 

Leave a Reply

