Skins 

We drove in the rain for hours. Familiar circles down roads I’ve forgotten. 

“Something happened here. In your life there are a few places, or maybe only the one place, where something happened, and then there are all the other places.” 

I came home and washed away the home. I slathered myself in coconut oil to kill the microbes. I combed out the cigarette smoke. 

Maybe all I’m trying to do is keep the happening contained. Keep the places minimal. Keep myself narrow. 

My family’s love reassures me, reminds me, relieves me of my burdens. I am happiest when I am surrounded by knowledge. 

“I’ve got all the time in the world don’t you want some of that…/ I had all the time in the world you wanted none of that”

Leave a Reply

