ears, nose, toes

Simon says,
“Sometimes you can give people all the facts and figures, but this doesn’t drive behavior.”

What do you know about the limbic structures of your brain? Your gut and your heart live there. Your nostalgia.

Sometimes I question why people befriend me because the facts and figures I associate with me don’t align with them. Sometimes I question why people don’t befriend me because the facts and figures I associate with me seem to align with them.

It doesn’t matter what language you use–it matters how you inspire others. A leader just needs to inspire. I will follow you into the dark. I think the majority of my strong interpersonal relationships are those that are felt. Those that inspire, not those that make sense. I would argue that many of my meaningful relationships have not made sense, and those that should be successful because they are logical have utterly failed me.

I want you to know that I had a dream of you in those old red shorts. For the first time in my life I feel privileged. I had a dream I was wearing your watch. I rubbed my shoes today and thought of another time, balancing on one foot, being rubbed.

We do sell ourselves so simply to one another. It takes conversation after interaction after conversation to break each other down, to debrief on one another, to get past the initial inspiration. To bridge that disconnect. We are not an intuitive experience. The limbic structures are only one branch of a larger whole. A more complex system. My gut and my heart live apart from my words. I am the reason behind the inspiration. That’s where I want to stockpile.

Leave a Reply

