You know a lot 

What scares me isn’t that you’re incorrect, isn’t that you’ve gotten your facts wrong. Although, that is threatening enough. What scares me is your inability to recognize the complexity of the world. You’re unable to articulate the shades of gray (even if there are only 50). You’re unable to see things beyond how you can categorize them. You are uncomfortable exploring how things might make sense if you tried on new ways of seeing them, of understanding them. That makes me sad for you. And makes me a little afraid of you. 

I know it’s frustrating. I know it makes you angry. I know it scares you. I know it makes you uncomfortable. I know it seems impossible. You will get overwhelmed, but then you will find your stride and regain your footing. Just try. I’m only asking you to try. Not forever. Not without a breath. But now in this moment. Please try. 

Leave a Reply

