Bargain 

I am a woman, so I owe you my time. I am a woman, so I owe you my explanation. I am a woman, so I owe you my empathy. I am a woman, so I owe you my proof of happiness. I am a woman, so I owe you my body. I am a woman, so I have to prove to you my worth. I am a woman. 

What do you owe me? 

Soaked in sweat–I lie on the floor. Soaked in sweat –I know where I should be, but I lie on the floor. 

You want to invade my space when it is convenient for you. I want to combine spaces when we both have the time. It doesn’t seem to matter. It doesn’t seem possible, but you’re a reminder that my time cannot be mine. That easily, my time can go to someone else, if I consent it. And then what? I don’t mind I don’t mind– until I do. Soaked in sweat–I let the time slip by, although I know where I should be. 

Leave a Reply

