We are one of them

I want to live in a world where dogs have faces like coyotes and foxes. Where the trees lose their leaves. Where we can have free ice cream and lunches in the ocean and endless books on short shelves. Wine in plastic cups.

I want to live in a world where we hurt. We hurt so we can recover.

We recover to change–to try again.

Is that you knocking on my door, on my heart, on my conscience?

I want to live in a world where babies don’t lose the sparkle in their eye: where we keep that brightness on the pupil. I feel like I’m just getting it back–that light in my eyes. I’m not ready to lose it again. To give it up.

It’s always been about more than my body, but maybe you will never understand that.

The personal is political.

I went for a run and tapped out peace with my toes.

Leave a Reply

